Simple ways to motivate yourself to exercise.

no excusesHi guys!

I’ve been trying desperately hard to motivate myself to exercise lately and I think it’s paying off because I have been more in the past 2 weeks than I’ve been since I started uni!

I’ve read a lot online about how to motivate yourself so I thought I would share with you some things that motivate me and the top tips I’ve come across. :)

♥ Exercise as soon in the day as you can – don’t leave it to the last minute or you won’t have time or you’ll feel tired out.

♥ Find a gym buddy to go with – it is so much easier to stay focused if you’re with someone else.

♥ Don’t feel dissapointed if you haven’t had the results you wanted to, you can’t run for as long as you thought or if you feel everyone else is better than you. Everyone has to start somewhere!

♥ Try and increase your work out by a little bit each time you go. Personally I try to run for a minute longer each time on the running machine and try to do 5 minutes more on the cross trainer.

♥ If you’re unsure how to use a machine watch someone else first, read the instructions or ask someone. Don’t feel intimidated by complicated looking machines because they are often much more simple than you realise!

♥ Drink plenty of water – becoming dehydrated can give you headaches and make exercising unpleasant.

♥ Set yourself goals and track your progress – my main goal is to be able to run for 10 minutes constantly, at the moment I can do 6 minutes and then feel knackered but I am getting there!

♥ Reward yourself for achieving a goal.

♥ Take a day off – if your muscles ache and you’re feeling tired out take a day off to recover, it’ll feel so much easier the next time you go.

♥ Plan what you’re going to do before you get to the gym and don’t forget to mix up your routine – this way you won’t get bored!

♥ Play loud, fast, music that you find motivating.

♥ Follow blogs on people exercising/losing weight, look at pictures of celebrities exercising and talk to your friends about it – my housemate knows loads about keeping fit and he helps me stay motivated and gives me very good advice!

♥Blog about it – just writing about it makes me feel motivated because I want to be able to say that I’m doing well!

How do you motivate yourself to exercise?

x

6 thoughts on “Simple ways to motivate yourself to exercise.

  1. Hi Lesfee,

    If you follow Cat she started a weight loss challenge, I'm not taking part but I read hers and the other girls updates. http://catslittleobsessions.blogspot.com/
    The link to the others is on her profile under “The WLC team”.

    Also, if you follow this blog http://misssarahlou.blogspot.com/ and on her reading list there are a lot of bloggers who blog about weight loss.

    I also find this sight amazing for inspiration and tips and their calorie counter is really useful. http://caloriecount.about.com/.

    Hope that helps!

    xxx

Leave a Reply

